Guild Presents $160,000 to CK at Annual Meeting

Annual Meeting

Guild President Kate Brownrigg, left, presents a check for $160,000 to Completely KIDS Executive Director Penny Parker at the Guild Annual Meeting on Thursday.

Dawn Dinsdale Named Leiferman Leadership Award Recipient

Deardorff Dinsdale Annual Meeting

Dawn Dinsdale, right, and Amy Deardorff embrace following the presentation of Dinsdale as the 2017 Leiferman Leadership Award recipient at the Completely KIDS Guild Annual Meeting on Thursday.

OMAHA (Nov. 17, 2017) – The Completely KIDS Guild transitioned leadership and presented Completely KIDS staff with a check during its Annual Meeting on Thursday at Happy Hollow Club.

Current Guild President Kate Brownrigg announced that the guild raised $160,000 for Completely KIDS from its two fundraising events – the Author Luncheon and Night in the Neighborhood.

“Completely KIDS is beyond grateful for the hard work, time and money these women contribute to advance the mission of our organization,” said Executive Director Penny Parker.

Amy Deardorff, 2014 Leiferman Leadership Award recipient, presented Dawn Dinsdale with the 2017 Leiferman Leadership Award. Dinsdale co-chaired Big Red Tailgate, a fundraiser supporting Completely KIDS, in 2008; and served on the guild board for six years including as president in 2011. Additionally, she and her husband Sid, chairman and president of Pinnacle Bancorp, Inc., have been regular supporters of Completely KIDS and its fundraiser, Pinot, Pigs & Poets.  

“She served as president in 2011, which was the 10th year of the guild, and I remember her coming to me and saying, ‘We’re trying to figure out some way to honor Cindy as she retires and for all that she’s done for Completely KIDS,’” Deardorff said. “And so, it was under Dawn’s leadership that the Leiferman Leadership Award was developed and instituted, so it just seems appropriate that this year, the 15th year of the guild, that Dawn receive it this year.”

The award honors the late Cindy Leiferman, a former Completely KIDS volunteer and employee, who helped the guild raise more than $1 million over 10 years starting in 2002 when the guild was formed.

New Completely KIDS Guild board members were announced for 2018 during the Annual Meeting. Back row from left: Abby Tipton, Leslie DeBoer, Cari Harris and Jenn Dannehl. Front row from left: Ashley McMahon, Rachel Skradski and Denise Gruidl. Not pictured: Erin Sullivan Downs, Bridget Greer, Shelly Grote, Alyson Manning and Brooke Spencer.

“The intent of the award was to identify a worthy individual who portrayed similar qualities of Cindy’s, someone who had passion, leadership, commitment and a love of what Completely KIDS is all about, and of course, a love for children,” Brownrigg said.

Other recipients include: Leiferman, 2011; Jody Carstens, 2012; Jodie Mackintosh, 2013; Sandy Parker, 2015; and Michele Grewcock, 2016.

Before the close of the meeting, Brownrigg passed the gavel to 2018 Guild President Anne Medlock, who announced new guild board members Jenn Dannehl, Leslie DeBoer, Erin Sullivan Downs, Bridget Greer, Shelly Grote, Denise Gruidl, Cari Harris, Alyson Manning, Ashley McMahon, Rachel Skradski, Brooke Spencer and Abby Tipton.

For more information about Completely KIDS or its guild, visit or call (402) 397-5809.

Posted By: Adrielle Griffin
Posted On: November 17, 2017

Our Programs
Completely KIDS' programs are outcomes-based and support academic success. (more)

Media Center
See past events, announcements and news releases. (more)

Find out how to get involved with Completely KIDS. (more)